John’s Chocolate Goop

Since my last post, (quite some time ago, sorry!!) I’ve had an adjustment in my eating habits. I’ve always been vegetarian, or rather – I’ve never bought meat, only eaten road kill, but I’ve been thinking about the dairy industry and the egg industry and I’ve found myself unable to really justify putting my money into those either, so I’m being a sort-of vegan and am down to fruit, veg, and the occasional road kill deer! I don’t want to use my blog as a platform for preaching, this is about showing people how to enjoy their food and get the best of their ingredients, so I can assure you that you won’t hear any more about my new-found abstinence. However it’s fair to say that this means a change of direction for this blog – it’s going to become considerably more vegan because that’s all I’ll be cooking from now on, so do please join me on this adventure, and who knows, you may be surprised!
To entice you in, I’ve been making tiffin, adapted from my uncle John’s recipe. However my family just call it “John’s Chocolate Goop” (I know, I’m really selling it well, aren’t I?) so I’m sticking with it because it tastes so good, it doesn’t need a delicious name!

So, how can it be chocolate, delicious, and also rather vegan? Easy!
photo(7)
For one mouthwatering trayful of seductively-sticky, everso-rich, utterly scrumptious, chocolate goop, you will need –
3oz of vegetable spread (I used Pure)
2 tablespoons of granulated sugar (or muscovado if you prefer)
2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
2 Tablespoons of golden syrup (you could try agave nectar)
1/2 lb crushed vegan digestive biscuits/graham crackers (I used some from M&S)
100- 150g vegan dark chocolate (I used Plamil organic dark chocolate)
If you like something fruity, you can add chopped raisins or sour cherries to your base, but it’s optional.
Take your spread, sugar, cocoa and syrup and melt them together on a low heat. Meanwhile, put your digestive biscuits into a freezer bag and beat them to crumbs with a rolling pin. I made mine very small and even, but if you prefer the odd crunchy bit, don’t be quite so forceful as I was! Then pour your molten saucepan of naughtiness into a bowl with you finely bashed biscuit crumbs and mix together (add your raisins or cherries now, if you’re using them), before pouring into a well greased (or clingfilm lined) 6″ tin and packing down really well with the back of a spoon.
Now, melt your chocolate, pour over the top and put into the fridge to set! Try to remember to cut into squares before the chocolate is solid – rather than forgetting, like me, and ending up with cracked bits!
Put into a tub and enjoy a square at your leisure. They’re quite rich, but they freeze incredibly well so you can make a batch and then defrost a few when you fancy a treat. Yum!
One thought on “John’s Chocolate Goop

Leave a Reply

